Friday, October 28, 2005

More rain. You gotta love the north shore.
Did a funny sort of switcharoo in the bamboo windbreak over there in the windward corner... Dug out a Dendrocalamus albociliata that hasn't thrown a single shoot and put it in a pot. I don't think the rhizome has any buds on it, so that may be why it hasn't done anything. I think I might tell Jericho about it if I see him and see if we can get another one in exchange, because three years with no shoots is ridiculous. I put it in a big pot with some good mix so we'll see if it does anything. I do think it is a neuter though.
Also dug out the Guadua Amplexifolia, and potted 4 divisions up. It wasn't looking so bad as the alb. but it isn't looking the picture of health, so maybe nursing it along for a while before putting it in some superholes will get us somewhere faster.
I replanted one Guadua angustifolia in one superhole. Also threw some Sesbania's in and amongst that windbreak, as they will do something faster than either the bamboo's or the casuarina's.
After lunch I had to help Eve move her boxes to the Haiku post office as she and her nonagenarian Dad are catching the Love Boat back to the mainland.
Found out that the Haiku True Value is closing since the rent has doubled. That sucks.
Back in rainy Huelo I went sick with the machete and kama, since we don't have a weedeater. I enjoyed it a lot more, but of course got less done. Finished up the day a little cold and wet, planting peanut after the chickens with Brooke.
Meanwhile, Lorinda Lichen and Susan and Brooke prepared masses of sweet potato cuttings (we are in an advanced phase of abundance with that plant now) and have been doing a lot in the garden, getting the pumpkin vines cut back and the dome beds in shape.

Oh, we discovered that one of the more advanced Coconut palms has died off due to some kind of grub infestation. Or I don't know, maybe the grub isn't responsible but the central stem has died off and their are grubs in there eating the heart out. Took some photo's, will try for a positive id. Maybe will call that Filipe guy about his injections. I assume he is organic.

No comments: