Monday, June 19, 2006

I had a pretty classic headless chicken day today. Started out I spent an hour and a half pulling weeds out of the bottom swale. It has really started to get weedy. Will have to get onto it so that the peanut doesn't disappear under the grass in one season...
Then I set about mulching the brandisii in the gulch. Used 50 gallon garbage bins to haul woodchips from the truck in the goat pen down to where they were needed. In the process I spotted a bunch of new running bamboo shoots, and whacked them off with sickle I had with me. Did I mention that I had started to purge the phyllostachys? It is really interesting to see it respond. Basically about 10 days I cut off everything that I could see. I probably missed about 10% of it. The shoots that have come up since are pretty good size! I imagine that it will keep trying to shoot and gradually the shoots will get weaker and smaller until finally either it dies or I do...
I planted one more Brandisii down there in a hole that I had previously made for a cacao and never got to. Had the hose siphoning water out of the top pond so I watered all of the brandisii's again as I gave them a good mulching. Still have one more to put in down there. It is going to be fun gradually reducing the christmas berry/java plum/guava canopy as this stuff starts to rise up.
Then I went up to the nursery and potted on the rest of the textilis and 20 odd pheasant wood (cassia siamensis). Spent quite a bit of time pulling weeds out of pots. If we don't get 10 ml tonight I am going to have use the tank water to get the pots wet, as the whole nursery has gotten dry. I hand watered from a bucket out of the goat roof catchment 50 gallon barrell the things I potted, plus the grafted trees we bought from frankies...
went back to get my sickle and shovel from the gulch, and ended up pulling weeds for another hour in takako's food forest. pruned some pidgeon peas and mulched the abiu and the canistel and a cacao.
dug some holes around the windward perimeter to put degluptas. tried to dig holes under the hao, but golly it has roots going everywhere down there. I think you'd need a stump grinder to dig a hole in there.
decided not to plant as I didn't have the hoses to reach out to edge handy and would spend too long fucking around to get them. so, I scooped a little salvinia out of the top pond and mulched the brandisii's up there. gave them some more pond water, and used a knife to pull the grass off the gliricidia and that areca palm or whatever it is. so good to finally have started clearing that terrace...

No comments: